Truong, Thuy-Van

A moment with... Thuy-Van Truong

“I’m an actress who performs in PLAYs, a table football PLAYer, a big kid who still likes to PLAY. I discovered my love of acting in PLAYs at the Paderborn University Drama Group and of PLAYing table football in the university’s table football league.”

(1) What I love about my current job is...
...the amazing catering on film sets, having a deep sensorial, aesthetic understanding of literature and characters and seeing the results of my work in the form of films, clips and photos.

(2) I’ve long been passionate about...
...not just exceptional or impactful films, but also contemporary art, table football and spirituality.

(3) One of the highlights of my career so far has been...
...meeting Hollywood star Joseph Gordon-Levitt during a film shoot and eating with him in the canteen.

(4) When I look back on my career so far, I’d say that what has particularly shaped me has been...
...the Paderborn University Drama Group, where I was “discovered” in a theatre practical seminar. The former director Dr Hans Moeller was very strict and critical with me, but also saw the potential in me and encouraged it. Consequently, I was given a dance role as an elf in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” and my first leading role as Marie in German play “Woyzeck”.

(5) I’d advise any young women wishing to pursue a career similar to mine to...
...work on your mental health, so that you’re better equipped to handle rejections, failures and setbacks, and continuously work hard to achieve success. I’d also advise them to invest in themselves, take advantage of the university’s offerings, workshops and further training and have hobbies to ensure a healthy work-life balance.

(6) I associate my time at Paderborn University with...
...parties, parties, parties, the joy of experimenting, being in the library until late in the evening and amazing, unforgettable semesters abroad in Sweden and England.

(7) For the next 50 years, I wish Paderborn University...
...to continue to offer its students a diverse range of options and opportunities (e.g. its “University Sports” activities and facilities, clubs, opportunities abroad, workshops, grants and scholarships), so that they can try things out, develop their potential and discover new interests.

(8) To conclude, I’d like to share the following with “Hall of Femmes” readers:
I hope that the different biographies and life journeys of the interesting women portrayed will inspire everyone to follow their own path. Happy browsing!

 

Photo (Kevin Jochmann)

Also worth seeing

Habig, Therese
Therese Habig
Therese Habig is Managing Director and co-founder of safety innovation center gGmbH in Paderborn, which specialises in research and digitisation for civil safety.
Gerlach, Sailkal
Saikal Gerlach
Saikal Gerlach studied Business Administration & Economics at Paderborn University. In addition to her main job as a risk manager in the construction industry, she is founder of non-profit women’s initiative “HerCentury Germany e.V.”, which aims to promote greater gender equality and diversity.
Burda-Zoyke, Andrea
Professor Andrea Burda-Zoyke
Andrea Burda-Zoyke is married with one son and Professor of Vocational and Business Education at the University of Kiel. She studied Business Education at Paderborn University and received her doctoral degree in Paderborn in 2012.
Flagmeier, Vanessa
Junior Professor Vanessa Flagmeier
Vanessa Flagmeier is Junior Professor of Accounting at the University of Passau and obtained her doctoral degree on the topic of “Financial statements’ tax disclosure” from Paderborn University in 2017.
Dr Anika Thun
Anika Thun is currently Managing Director of Kalypso Media Group. She completed her doctoral degree on “Life in reboot times: an empirical case study analysis in the film and games industry” at Paderborn University in 2020.

Truong, Thuy-Van

Ein Moment mit…
Thuy-Van Truong

„Ich bin SchauSPIELerin, TischfußballSPIELerin, ein erwachsenes SPIELkind und meine SPIELfreude entdeckte ich beiSPIELsweise an der Uni Paderborn an der Studiobühne und in der Kickerliga.“

(1) An meiner jetzigen beruflichen Tätigkeit begeistert mich…
...leckeres Catering am Filmset, tiefes sinnlich-ästhetisches Verständnis für Literatur und Figuren sowie die Resultate meiner Arbeit in Form von Filmen, Clips und Fotos.

(2) Themen, für die ich seit vielen Jahren brenne, sind...
...außergewöhnliche oder verstörende Filme, zeitgenössische Kunst, Tischfußball und Spiritualität.

(3) Eine Sternstunde meines bisherigen Werdegangs war für mich…
...den Hollywood-Star Joseph Gordon-Levitt bei einem Filmdreh zu treffen und mit ihm in der Kantine zu essen.

(4) Wenn ich auf meinen bisherigen Weg zurückblicke hat mich besonders geprägt…
...die Studiobühne Paderborn, wo ich in einem theaterpraktischen Seminar „entdeckt“ wurde. Der ehemalige Leiter Dr. Hans Moeller war sehr streng und kritisch mit mir, hat aber auch Potenzial in mir gesehen und dieses gefördert. So habe ich eine sehr körperlich-tänzerische Rolle als Elfe in „Ein Sommernachtstraum“ und meine erste Hauptrolle als Marie in „Woyzeck“ bekommen.

(5) Wenn junge Frauen eine ähnliche Laufbahn einschlagen möchten wie ich, würde ich ihnen raten…
...an ihrer mentalen Gesundheit zu arbeiten, damit sie Absagen, Niederlagen und Rückschläge besser verkraften und kontinuierlich an ihrem Erfolg arbeiten können. Außerdem rate ich ihnen in sich selbst zu investieren, Angebote der Uni, Workshops sowie Weiterbildungen zu nutzen und ihre Hobbys als Ausgleich zum Arbeitsalltag zu pflegen.

(6) Mit meiner Zeit an der Universität Paderborn verbinde ich…
...Parties, Parties, Parties, Experimentierfreude, Bibliotheksbesuche bis spät in den Abend und unvergesslich schöne Auslandssemester in Schweden und England.

(7) Für die nächsten 50 Jahre wünsche ich der Universität Paderborn…
..., dass sie weiterhin eine vielfältige Auswahl für Studierende anbietet (z. B. Hochschulsport, Vereine, Auslandsangebote, Workshops, Stipendien), bei der sie sich ausprobieren, ihr Potenzial entfalten oder neue Interessen entdecken können.

(8) Folgendes möchte ich den Leser*innen der „Hall of Femmes“ noch mitteilen...
...ich wünsche allen, dass sie durch die individuellen Biografien und Lebenswege der interessanten Frauen inspiriert werden, um ihren eigenen Weg zu gehen. Viel Spaß beim Stöbern!

Auch sehenswert

Prof. Andrea Luke
Andrea Luke ist Lehrstuhlinhaberin für Technische Thermodynamik im Fachbereich Maschinenbau der Universität Kassel. Ihr Forschungsgebiet sind energieeffiziente Transportprozesse in mehrphasigen Systemen in regelmäßiger Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Paderborn, wo sie zuvor zum Thema Wärmeübergang beim Sieden promoviert und in Technischer Thermodynamik habilitiert wurde.
Lenzing, Anke
Prof. Dr. Anke Lenzing
Anke Lenzing ist Professorin für englische Fachdidaktik an der Universität Innsbruck und hat 2018 an der Universität Paderborn habilitiert und die Venia Legendi für englische Sprachwissenschaft und Psycholinguistik erhalten.
Dr. Anika Thun
Anika Thun arbeitet aktuell als Geschäftsführerin der Kalypso Media Group und wurde 2020 an der Universität Paderborn zum Thema „Leben in Reboot-Zeiten: Eine empirische Fallstudienanalyse in der Film- und Games-Industrie“ promoviert.
Raphael, Sabine
Dr. Sabine Raphael
Sabine Raphael arbeitet aktuell als Data Scientist bei der HUK in Coburg und wurde 2010 an der Universität Paderborn zum Thema „Characterization of mesopic vision for luminance photometry“ promoviert.
Burda-Zoyke, Andrea
Prof. Dr. Andrea Burda-Zoyke
Andrea Burda-Zoyke (verheiratet, 1 Sohn) ist Professorin für Berufs- und Wirtschaftspädagogik an der Universität zu Kiel, hat an der Universität Paderborn Wirtschaftspädagogik studiert und wurde dort 2012 promoviert.